Sukuh Temple

Sukuh Temple is a Hindu temple, located in Berjo Village, Ngargoyoso District, Karanganyar Regency, Central Java. This temple is estimated to be built at the end of the 15th century, included in the ranks of young temples in Indonesia.

Unlike other Hindu temples, the basic form of Sukuh Temple is a storeyed terrace with the most sacred part located at the end back and the highest. This form is characteristic of a pre-Hindu sacred form. That’s why the architecture of Sukuh temple considered to deviate from the bookmaking of Hindu temple, Wastu Widya.  Continue reading “Sukuh Temple”

Kedulan Temple

Kedulan temple is a Hindu temple located adjacent to Sambisari temple, according to Pananggaran inscription and Sumundul inscription, Kedulan temple was built in 791 Saka (869 AD) by Rakai Kayuwangi who ruled Mataram Hindu at that time.

Kedulan temple also has many similarities with the Temple Sari either in shape, architecture, and size. Kedulan temple found in the conditions buried the rest of the cold lava eruption of Mount Merapi as deep as 7 meters below the surface of the soil.

Like the temple of Sambisari, Kedulan temple there is one main temple and three Perwara temple located in front of it straight from north-south. Inside the main building of the temple, there are also lingga-yoni.

The difference between Sambisari temple and Kedulan temple is just facing direction. If the Sambisari temple faces west, Kedulan temple faces east.

Inside the temple is also found also statues Durga Mahesasuramahardini statue on the north side, the statue of Ganesha on the west side, the statue of Agastya and Mahakala on the south side, and Nandiswara on either side of the entrance of the temple.

From Pananggaran and Sumundul inscription also mentions that the use of dams in Pananggaran village for the benefit of the community and that the income generated from the dam was exempt from taxes by the state because it was used to fund the Kedulan Temple.

Dieng Temples

Dieng temple is a Hindu Shiva temple located at the foot of Dieng Mountain, Wonosobo. This temple is estimated to be built between the late 8th century until the early 9th century. Dieng temple is the oldest Hindu temple in Java. Dieng temple is divided into 3 complexes: Arjuna temple complex, Gatotkaca temple complex, Dwarawati and Bima temple complex.

Arjuna Temple Complex

Arjuna temple complex consists of 4 temples, namely Arjuna Temple, Srikandi Temple, Sembadra Temple,  Puntadewa and Semar Temple. Arjuna temple building is similar to Gedong Sanga Temple building. This temple faces to the west with the doorstep decorated with Kalamakara. Srikandi temple has a square base form. This temple is located in the north of Arjuna temple. The outer walls of Srikandi temple are decorated with reliefs depicting Shiva, Vishnu, and Brahma.

Gatotkaca Temple Complex

Gatotkaca temple complex consists of 5 temples namely Gatutkaca Temple, Setyaki Temple, Nakula Temple, Sadewa Temple, Petruk and Gareng temple. Of the 5 temples that exist only Gatotkaca temple is still intact.

Dwarawati Temple Complex

Dwarawati temple complex consists of 5 temple that is Dwarawati temple, Abiyasa temple, Pandu temple, and Margasari temple.

Bima Temple Complex

Bima Temple is the largest temple in Dieng temple area. This temple lies on the hill above. Bima temple in contrast to the temples in Java in general because this temple has legs that seem octagonal, while generally, the temples in Java have a rectangular or square foot.